<Back to Blog

Big Win in the Nassau Cup Ocean Race

Lakewood members Chris and Karen Lewis brought home the big win in the Nassau Cup Ocean Race on November 10. Their J-44 Kenai gained a strong lead for the IRC fleet on the first day, kept that margin for the remainder of the race and pulled a victory on the final day. This was Chris and Karen’s first Southern Ocean Racing Conference race. Now they are ready to take on their next race from Fort Lauderdale to Key West on January 11.

For 82 years, some of the most world-renowned sailors like Ted Turner and Dennis Conner have competed in the Nassau Cup Ocean Race. Sailors set sail in Miami and race to Nassau harbor in the Bahamas. This is the fourth time a J-44 won the trophy, after Jim Bishop’s Gold Digger took 3 wins. The current record is 13 hours, 31 minutes and 30 seconds, set in 2012 by Ron O’Hanley on the yacht Privateer. The time depends upon winds; Chris and Karen were left with almost no wind for 12 hours, therefore, they completed the race in about 35 hours. Be sure to congratulate the Lewis’ and wish them luck on their next race!

For more information about the Southern Ocean Racing Conference, visit https://www.sorcsailing.org/. To learn about the Nassau Cup Ocean Race, visit https://www.nassaucuprace.org/.

© Lakewood Yacht Club
2322 Lakewood Yacht Club Drive, Seabrook, TX 77586 | Tel: (281) 474-2511 | Fax (281) 474-3502
Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn     YouTube     Instagram