<Back to Blog

LYC Brings Home Governor's Cup Trophy

Al Poindexter accepts the Governor's Cup Trophy from Regatta Chair, Karen Bogisch. 

Lakewood Yacht Club was awarded the Governor’s Cup Trophy at the Austin Yacht Club Governor’s Cup Regatta. In 1962, they began awarding this prize to the out-of-town yacht club that had the most members participate in the race. In 2005 the Governor’s Trophy was retired and in 2016 it was recommissioned. Five LYC members raced in this year’s Governor’s Cup Regatta, including Jay Lutz, Forbes Durdin, Al Poindexter, Chris Lewis and Douglas Strebel.

© Lakewood Yacht Club
2322 Lakewood Yacht Club Drive, Seabrook, TX 77586 | Tel: (281) 474-2511 | Fax (281) 474-3502
Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn     YouTube     Instagram